Week in review 12/24 – 12/30: Adrenal Fatigue and Increased Waking Temps

Weight change: 214.8 – 217.0 (+2.2 lbs)
Average Calories/day: 2375.96
Average ZEO sleep score: NA
Average waking temperature: 96.08 (+0.13)

Exercise
Lift#1:
Squat: 265×3, 315×1, 285×3, 235x6x3
Deadlift: 305×3
OHP: 95×4, 95×3, 95×4
Chin-up (assisted, -150) 6×3

Cardio #1: 10 minutes jog, 10 minutes body weight exercises
Cardio #2: 20 minutes body weight exercise

Lift/Habit Progress
Lift checkins were somewhat impaired due to travel

Comments
First, I unfortunately had to withdraw from the DietBet challenge.  Between the antibiotics and the stress of the test scores, I just couldn’t ask any more of my body.  I did manage get to 214lbs, a loss of 8.8 lbs from my initial weigh-in at 222.8 (and I had seen 225 on 11/24).  I am fully carbed up writing this post today at 220 lbs.  Waist measurement unchanged.  It’s very hard to tell actual body composition changes over the course of a month.  It was certainly not a month where I saw significant strength or performance gains.  With the amount of stress that the dental abscess and test scores caused though, I am quite happy to weigh less after the worst of Christmas/New Years Eve than I did after Thanksgiving.

I read Adrenal Fatigue by Dr. James Wilson last week.  I think it’s safe to say there is something amiss with my adrenals based on the cortisol saliva test, my out-of-range testosterone/estrogen test scores, and the survey in the book.  I will certainly elaborate on this in another post, hopefully after I get some advice from a practitioner.

This was my first week trying out some herbal supplements based on Dr. Wilson’s recommendations: Maca, Chinese Ginger, Dandelion, and Ashwagandha.  I also used Power Adapt and Vital Adapt products from Natura Health.  This was my second week taking Iodine supplements.  I ate more calories per day this week, especially after the DietBet had ended.  I did not have access to all the nourishing food I’ve been eating recently, but I did manage to keep up a mostly Primal/Paleo diet.

After my sleep was so great last week, it was terrible this week on the road.  For 3 nights I slept on an inflatable air mattress that had to be re-inflated at 4am each night.  Rooms were not dark so I slept with a sleep mask causing the ZEO to frequently fall off.

With all these changes, it’s hard to say what’s causing it but I do feel great.  My waking temperature has been steadily improving as well.  I threw a linear trend-line on my temps from November/December.  When you look at just the two weeks that I’ve been taking Iodine and focusing on sleep, the line is even more drastic.

waking_temp

I’m going to continue to aim for 2000-2500 calories a day.  I want to see what number and macronutrient ratio will put me at a weight that I can maintain through figuring out what is wrong with my testosterone numbers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Week in review 12/24 – 12/30: Adrenal Fatigue and Increased Waking Temps”

  1. bjjcaveman says :

    You have a very interesting blog.. I like the self experimentation.

Leave a Reply

