Meal Planning for the Perfect Health Diet

This week I attempted a meal plan.  I’m using parenthesis to indicate if I cook something that provides leftovers or if I’m eating leftovers.  So (2/4) means I am eating the 2nd of 4 prepared portions.

Some of my meal planning goals:

  • Eat consistent with the Perfect Health Diet (PHD)
  • Prep more food in advance, especially PHD “safe starches” like rice and potatoes.
  • Reduce frequency of grocery trips
  • Incorporate vegetables into 2 meals a day
  • Eat breakfast every day
Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Sunday 3 Eggs, Salami, Butter Shrimp (1/2) Rice(1/6), Steak (1/4), Guacamole
Monday Shrimp (2/2), Rice (2/6) Sushi @ Cafeteria Protein Shake Rice (3/6), Steak (2/4)
Tuesday Steak (3/4), Rice (3/6) Entree @ Cafeteria
(meat and potato)
Protein Shake  Steak 4/4, rice 5/6, guac
Wednesday  chicken sausage, eggs Protein Shake Rice  Crackers , Butter  Tuna Steak (1/3), Sweet Potato (1/3)
Thursday Bacon, Sweet Potato Entree @ Cafeteria
(meat and potato)
Chicken and Spinach Restaurant
Friday Bacon, Eggs Tuna Steak (2/3) Steak 1/4 , rice (1/6)
Saturday Chicken Sausage, Rice 2/6 Steak (2/4), Rice (3/6) Quick Chili w/ flank steak (3/4, 4/4)

I ended up with 5 shopping trips:

Costco Bacon, Steak, Shrimp, Guacamole, Rice/Corn Snacks, Chicken Broth
Local Grocery (x3) Sweet Potatoes, Onions, Frozen Red Potatoes, Rice Crackers, Chicken Thighs, Vegetables, Raw Milk
Trader Joe’s Eggs, Salami, Butter, Rice [all from a previous week]
Farmer’s Market Almond Macaroon, Shrimp, Crab

My actual eating was different mostly due to my  I ended up catching a cold.  My main deviations from the Perfect Health Diet plan that I set for myself were cheating with some rice/corn snacks and some desserts on Friday.

Here’s what I actually ate:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner 
Monday 3 Eggs, Butter Shrimp (1/2) Berry Smoothie, Raisins Rice(1/6, Steak (1/4), Guacamole
Tuesday Shrimp (2/2), Rice (2/6) Sushi @ Cafeteria Rice/Corn Snacks Rice (3/6), Steak (2/4), Guacamole
Wednesday Steak (3/4), Rice (3/6) Chicken Soup Rice/Corn Snacks Chicken Soup
Thursday Chicken Soup Chicken Soup, Frozen Potatoes (1/2) Rice/Corn Snacks Chicken Soup, Frozen Potatoes (1/2),
Guacamole
Friday Chicken Sausage,
Sweet Potato
Chicken Sausage,
Sweet Potato
Dark Chocolate Shrimp (1/2), Rice (1/3)
Saturday Almond Macaroon, Rice (2/3), Shrimp (2/2), Crab Rice (3/3), Shrimp, Crab
Sunday Flank steak, Sweet Potato Chicken Soup Flank Steak, Rice Chex, Almonds, Almond Butter, Chocolate Pie
Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “Meal Planning for the Perfect Health Diet”

  1. alycevayle says :

    A very well thought out meal plan. I love it. Best of luck. I always find that writing it is the fun part – it’s sticking to it that’s difficult!

  2. chechel says :

    I just read the book and I will start tomorrow. I have a question. Lately, I have been craving for the chipotle salad. The salad that I get from there is with a little black beans, the chicken, the salsa, the sour cream, little cheese and the guacamole. I sometimes don’t get the black beans. I just get so satisfied with this salad. To me, it is so delicious. I am a health freak and I have been following the blood type diet for years now. I do cheat every now and then but I do want to try your PHD.

    • RecompHacks says :

      Hey, I think Chipotle is pretty good when compared to other fast food. If I do have to get fast food, it’s usually the place I go. Personally I’d get the meat and some rice even though the soybean oil they marinate it in is a “do not eat”.

      I’m certainly not a PHD expert but here’s what I think of the Chipotle burrito bowl you describe:
      Guacamole – Good
      Tomato Salsa – Good, but be wary of pretty high carbs in the red spicy salsa
      Sour Cream, Cheese – Pleasure foods: Not so good but OK as a treat
      White Rice – Good EXCEPT cooked in soybean oil which is a “do not eat”
      Chicken – Good EXCEPT they marinate it in a soybean oil which is a “do not eat”
      Black Beans – Do not eat
      Corn Salsa – Do not eat

  3. deanwinsley says :

    The PHD book is great I am always referring back to it. This is the diet I want to follow. I can not seem to put on weight just having a high fat diet. So once my gut disbiosis has cleared, I am looking forward to adding some more safe starches to my diet.

    • RecompHacks says :

      Right on. I used sort of a GAPS style diet to help fix my digestion. I seem to be able to eat based on this PHD/paleo+safe starches template without disturbing it. Taking Betaine HCL and some digestive enzymes helped a lot with my digestion as well.

      I am not too surprised that you can’t gain weight with a high fat diet – I lost 10+ lbs eating high fat low-carb at the end of last year.

    • RecompHacks says :

      Right on. I used sort of a GAPS style diet to help fix my digestion. I seem to be able to eat based on this PHD/paleo+safe starches template without disturbing it. Taking Betaine HCL and some digestive enzymes helped a lot with my digestion as well.

      I am not too surprised that you can’t gain weight with a high fat diet – I lost 10+ lbs eating high fat low-carb at the end of last year.

      • deanwinsley says :

        I am also having to take digestive enzymes but I have not tried Betaine HCL yet. I’m fine with gaps/paleo diet but I just have to be careful how much starch & fructose I eat. Do you eat quinoa? Watched a brilliant documentary today, its on iTunes called The Perfect Human Diet.

      • RecompHacks says :

        I haven’t tried quinoa lately. I pretty much avoid all grains except some occasional corn.

      • chechel says :

        I have to confess that I am bit scared of the high fat diet…. I read the book….

  4. chechel says :

    I read that sunflower seed butter is good cholesterol. I have adapted the taste its really good and it is very satisfying. I keeps me full for hours on. What would you recommend? What kind of butter exactly is good to use? I love butter and I have stopped using cow butter. Instead, I use melt butter. Any thoughts?

    • RecompHacks says :

      I eat a pretty good amount of grassfed cow butter. This is an approved food in many diets that I’ve been reading lately such as the Perfect Health Diet and Weston A Price / Nourishing Traditions. Butter is also a great calorie source for low carb diets – think Atkins or the Bulletproof Diet.

      I like the way PHD defines nuts like sunflower as a pleasure food. They taste great but are rich in omega 6 acids which are already too prevalent in modern diets. If the nut butter is made by just grinding up sunflowers then it seems OK but if it contains a highly processed nut oil I would definitely avoid.

      I can’t really have nut butter around the house just because I eat it too fast. I bought this local artisan almond butter Saturday but it’s almost gone.

  5. Charles Grashow says :

    1) Have you attempted IF?
    2) I couldn’t care whether or not a food is “approved” or not by any so-called experts!
    3) Eat whole unprocessed foods – grass fed/finished meat, pastured eggs, raw milk (i prefer goat), yogurt, kefir, raw sprouted nuts and seed butter, etc.
    4) STOP being so anal about the macro nutrient ratios of what you eat – it takes away the enjoyment one gets from eating
    5) Only eat when you are hungry

    • RecompHacks says :

      Hey Charles thanks for your thoughts. Sounds like you are blending IF and WAPF in your overall philosophy.

      I have done Intermittent Fasting (IF) and really enjoy it, but I’m dealing with some adrenal fatigue issues and my health practitioner + most of what I’ve read suggest more regularly spaced, balanced meals.

      I definitely stick to whole unprocessed foods when I can.

      I’m really not anal about macros on a day to day basis. I do track all my food intake though, which is actually a very small time investment. Then I can spend just a few minutes each week checking out calories/macro counts.

Leave a Reply

