Potato Starch Day 2: Waiting to Explode

This morning, I mixed a teaspoon of Bob’s Red Mill potato starch into a half cup of full fat goat milk kefir and drank it up.   I’m already getting more used to pungent taste of the Kefir.  I’m still waiting for the gassy bulletproof explosion or crazy sex dreams that I’ve been warned about.  So far neither has happened.

In the afternoon, my new probiotics arrived: Primal Defense Ultra and Prescript-Assist.   I haven’t researched these probiotics much. I’m following the leaders at FreeTheAnimal on this one.  They really look like soil when you break them open.

2014-03-29 07.02.38

I was so excited about the new probiotics and lack of gas that I had to make another kefir drink for dinner. How does “kefir gut bomb” sound?

Mix with immersion blender for frothy goodness.

2014-03-29 07.03.05

Food Diary:

Breakfast: 4oz goat milk kefir, 1tsp potato starch, 2oz butter, 1/2oz MCT oil
Lunch: 2oz sprouted almond/mulberry trail mix, 2oz butter, 1/2oz MCT oil
Dinner: 5oz lamb, homemade broth, 4oz goat milk kefir, 1tsp potato starch, 2oz sprouted trail mix
Snacks: 1/3 bar of dark chocolate, 2oz semi-sweet chocolate, bag of seaweed snacks, few tsp honey, some macadamias, more sprouted trail mix

Total calories: 2476 kcal

Ketosis: Based on the ketostix, I was in a strong ketosis in the evening after dinner.  In the late evening I snacked on some semi-sweet chocolate chips and was not in ketosis in the morning.

Weight: Down 0.8 lbs from 215 to 214.2 between day 2  and 3.  (I’m a 5’8″ male for reference).  Today is also weekly measurement day for me.  242 inches total for 8 sites.

GI: Amazing on both day 2 and day 3.  Zero gas and great BMs with good volume after a month of IBS-D like GI distress.  On day 2/3 at only 2 tsp PS, the credit here goes more to my restricted food choices rather than the potato starch.

FBG:  86mg/dL in the morning of day 3.  This is a great number for me.  After a night with some sweet chocolate I might see a swing in either direction but not today.  Don’t worry I plan to test this with much bigger PS+carb intakes.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

